Gå til indhold
Forsiden | Kontakt | Ledige job | For ansatte | Presse og nyheder | Web-TV | tysk flag engelsk flag |

Region SyddanmarkTil forsiden

ForsidepilThe Region of Southern DenmarkpilFacts about the Region of Southern Denmark

Facts about the Region of Southern Denmark

Geographically, the Region of Southern Denmark extends from approximate 40 km north-west of Vejle to Padborg in the south, and from Esbjerg in the west to Nyborg in the east.


Klik her for at se i fuld skærm
Kort over Region Syddanmark med kommuner


Facts about the Region of Southern Denmark

Area: 12,256 km2
Population: 1.2 million
Population density: 98 residents per km2
Citizens entitled to vote: 942,000
Annual budget: DKK 25.6 billion
Largest local municipality: Odense – population: 196,000
Smallest local municipality: Fanø – population: 3,300


As of 1 January 2007, the public administration system in Denmark was completely reorganised. A total of 13 county authorities were discontinued and instead, the country was divided into five regions. The Region of Southern Denmark consists of four of the former counties:

  • Fyn
  • Ribe
  • Southern Jutland
  • Vejle (the southern part of that county)

The tasks previously handled by the county authorities have now been divided between the municipalities, the Danish State and the new regions. The regional authorities are responsible for the hospitals, some of the former county social and psychiatric institutions, and regional development.

The Region of Southern Denmark is the largest workplace in the region, employing around 25,000 people. Measured in turnover, the Region of Southern Denmark is also a true heavyweight, with an annual budget of DKK 20.3 billion. This is larger than the budget for the Danish armed forces, and the figure is also greater than the turnover of the biggest industrial companies in Denmark.

From 78 municipalities to 22
The Danish municipalities have also undergone major changes as on 1 January 2007, many of them were merged. The number of municipalities in Southern Denmark has been reduced from 78 to 22. The new large municipalities have taken over many of the assignments previously handled by the county authorities. For example, they are now responsible for prevention and rehabilitation, many of the social services’ arrangements and institutions, and a host of environmental tasks. In addition, a large number of assignments are now to be handled by the regional and municipal authorities in collaboration.

Close working relationship

The regional authorities’ tasks are to be handled through close working relationships with the new large municipalities – and, in many cases, in collaboration with citizens, knowledge institutions, the business community and organisations. These working relationships will operate in both formal and informal forums.

The “Growth Forum” is one of the formal collaboration bodies, involving representatives from the Regional Council, municipal boards, education institutions, the business community and others. Another such forum is the “Contact Committee”, in which the mayors and the President of the Regional Council  are to meet regularly.

However, the Regional Council cannot levy tax. All expenses are to be covered by the State and municipal authorities.

Siden er sidst opdateret 10-01-2017.
Kontakt Region Syddanmark

Region Syddanmark | Tlf: 76 63 10 00 | CVR nr. 29190909 | Skriv til Regionen | Om hjemmesiden | Sitemap |